FMA

In accordance with its legislative mandate, the Financial Market Authority (FMA) Liechtenstein ensures the stability of the Liechtenstein financial market, the protection of clients, the prevention of abuses, and the implementation of and compliance with recognized international standards.

Supervision

As an integrated and independent supervisory authority, the FMA supervises the financial market participants in the Liechtenstein financial centre. Through its supervisory work, the FMA ensures the stability of the financial institutions and financial market as well as the protection of clients. If supervisory rules are violated, the FMA takes the necessary measures in the interest of client protection and the reputation of the financial centre. When combating abuse, the FMA also deals with cases in which activities subject to a licence are pursued without the appropriate licence.

Regulation

The FMA ensures the implementation of international standards and participates in the preparation of financial market laws on behalf of the Government. The FMA advocates sustainable regulation that ensures efficient and effective supervision. To further specify laws and their implementing ordinances, the FMA also issues guidelines and communications.

External relations

The FMA is represented in all relevant supervisory organizations at the global and European level. With its recognition as an equivalent supervisory authority, the FMA makes an important contribution to ensuring international market access for Liechtenstein financial intermediaries. At the national level, the FMA maintains close contacts with business and professional associations.

Enterprise and team

The FMA is an autonomous authority with its own legal personality. It was established as an integrated Financial Market Authority in 2005. The FMA is governed according to the rules and practices of responsible and modern corporate management. The FMA employs around 90 people from Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Austria, Germany and other countries.

 

print Page

FMA

Die Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA) Liechtenstein sorgt gemäss ihrem gesetzlichen Auftrag für die Gewährleistung der Stabilität des Finanzmarktes Liechtenstein, den Schutz der Kunden, die Vermeidung von Missbräuchen sowie die Umsetzung und Einhaltung anerkannter internationaler Standards.

Aufsicht

Die FMA beaufsichtigt als integrierte und unabhängige Aufsichtsbehörde die Finanzmarktteilnehmer des Finanzplatzes Liechtenstein. Mit ihrer Aufsichtstätigkeit sorgt die FMA für die Stabilität der Finanzinstitute und des Finanzmarktes sowie den Schutz der Kunden. Bei Verstössen gegen aufsichtsrechtliche Vorschriften trifft die FMA im Interesse des Kundenschutzes und der Reputation des Finanzplatzes die notwendigen Massnahmen. Die FMA verfolgt zudem im Rahmen der Missbrauchsbekämpfung Fälle, in denen bewilligungspflichtige Tätigkeiten ohne Bewilligung ausgeübt werden.

Regulierung

Die FMA sorgt für die Umsetzung internationaler Standards und arbeitet im Auftrag der Regierung an der Vorbereitung von Finanzmarktgesetzen mit. Die FMA setzt sich für eine tragfähige Regulierung ein, unter Sicherstellung einer effizienten und wirksamen Aufsicht. Die FMA erlässt zudem zur Präzisierung der Gesetze und deren Durchführungsverordnungen Richtlinien und Mitteilungen.

Aussenbeziehungen

Die FMA ist in allen massgebenden Aufsichtsorganisationen auf globaler und europäischer Ebene vertreten. Mit der Anerkennung als gleichwertige Aufsichtsbehörde leistet die FMA einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sicherung des internationalen Marktzugangs für die liechtensteinischen Finanzintermediäre. Auf nationaler Ebene pflegt die FMA einen engen Austausch mit den Wirtschafts- und Berufsverbänden.

Unternehmen und Team

Die FMA ist ein öffentliches Unternehmen mit eigener Rechtspersönlichkeit. Sie ist im Jahr 2005 als integrierte Finanzmarktaufsicht gegründet worden. Die FMA wird nach den Regeln und Praktiken der verantwortungsvollen und modernen Unternehmensführung geführt. Die FMA beschäftigt rund 80 Mitarbeitende aus Liechtenstein, der Schweiz, Österreich, Deutschland und weiteren Ländern.

Seite drucken